Sustainable forest management

At Pathwood Smart we would like to inform you of our commitment and priority to the conservation of the environment and the planet’s natural resources, marketing only those products that contribute to sustainability in the exploitation of the Earth’s natural resources. To this end, a more rigorous control of the extraction and exploitation of wood as a raw material is effective.

With the aim of continuing to carry out a respectful and responsible policy with the environment and the natural resources of the planet, our company is currently in the process of approval for its timber warehouse in Algeciras and Valencia of the two most internationally recognised certification systems, which are the following:

• PEFC™ (Programme for Endorsement of Forest Certification Schemes).
• FSC® (Forest Stewardship Council®).

The PEFC Chain of Custody Certificate number is and in addition the company complies with the requirements mentioned in Appendix 4 of the PEFC ST 2002:2013 standard.

The FSC® Chain of Custody Certificate number is.

Why are certifications so important?

Deforestation is the second largest source of greenhouse gases after fossil fuel emissions. This is why the vast majority of professionals in the sector are convinced to use wood materials especially from sustainable forests.

A sustainable forest is one that replants the trees that are felled, which reduces the damage caused by the exploitation of forest areas and reduces the effects of global warming. Therefore, to address the different types of forest areas, there are more than 50 certification programmes that take into account the differences.

At Pathwood Smart we operate under two sets of globally recognised certification standards: Programme for the Endorsement of Forest Certification Schemes (PEFC™) and the Forest Stewardship Council (FSC®). Both systems promote sustainable forest and plantation management through product traceability processes.

PEFC ™ Certification

Among the 50 existing certifications, FSC and PEFC are the most recognised.

The Programme for the Endorsement of Forest Certification (PEFC)

is an international organisation that also focuses on sustainable forest management through external certification, taking into account the ethics and supply process of timber production. PEFC is not a standardisation body, but operates under a shared party recognition scheme.

PEFC was introduced in 1999 to accommodate forest areas in both Europe and North America and represents more than 264 million hectares of forest with recognition in more than 30 countries.

FSC ® Certification

The Forest Stewardship Council (FSC) sets the global standard for forest management with 10 principles that a forest manager can follow. The international FSC standards have to be interpreted at national level in order to be applied in local forest areas.

Although both the FSC and the PEFC are bodies dedicated to sustainable forest management, they focus on different areas. The FSC was initially created for tropical forest areas, but due to the different climates and forests around the world they introduced the PEFC in 1999 to accommodate wooded areas in both Europe and North America, and it currently represents 7% of the world’s forest area (180 million hectares) with certification recognised in more than 80 countries.

Quality assurance

All our key processes are controlled through a certified Quality Management System.

This is the assurance that all processes are risk assessed and developed to deliver legal compliance and first class customer service, properly documented, professionally implemented and internally audited. The processes also cover the Construction Products Regulation, EU Timber Regulation and finance.

This website uses cookies to give you the best experience. If you continue browsing, you are giving your consent to the acceptance of our cookies policy.